How do you write ‘sustainable’?

Sustainability – a topic that has been on umas’ agenda for many years. This is reflected not only in our generation-spanning and future-oriented company history, but also in the innovative uma product ideas.

With the uma recycled PET PEN series we have developed the first truly sustainable writing instrument series, which not only convinces in haptics and variation possibilities, but also with an innovative recycling idea.

Foreword

People generally like to feel safe and secure. So from the point of view of the consumer, purchasing decisions are being increasingly driven by questions of sustainability and environmental protection. Consumers want to know about a product‘s entire value creation chain and how the customer treats its staff and suppliers. A product needs to create a feeling not just of sustainability, but of trust.

The company of uma Schreibgeräte Ullmann is firmly committed to sustainability and to treating both people and the environment with respect. For uma, sustainability is more than just a label. The rPET PEN writing instruments series has already won the Sustainability Award, was nominated for the German Sustainability Award, and most recently received the German Innovation Award in Gold in 2021. For us, these are clear evidence that an investment in research and development can achieve added value for our planet.

All uma writing instruments stand for long-lasting and successful advertising. That is why refilling the refills in all writing instruments becomes a matter of course, as well as the fact that all materials used can be recycled and used again in our RECY models.

With the FSC and PEFC certified uma wooden writing instruments, we contribute to the positive preservation of the Black Forest for posterity in the future.

All models in the uma Naturals series are produced in a climate-neutral production process and are also finished in a 100% climate-neutral process at the Fischerbach site on one of the world’s most modern finishing lines for promotional writing instruments.

With the antimicrobial writing instruments, we combine sustainability and hygiene. In this way, we demonstrate not only innovative strength but also solution-oriented ideas for the protection of nature and people.

Entrepreneurial responsibility combined with innovative product ideas and sustainable production processes. This is the philosophy that uma embodies, one of long-term, successful and sustainable action.

Alexander Ullmann (CEO)

uma production is climate-neutral

Climate change is currently one of the greatest challenges. We want to assume responsibility and make a concrete contribution to climate protection: In cooperation with ClimatePartner, we have calculated the emissions of our „Wood Writing Instruments“ and „Recycled Pet Pen“ product series and then offset them through regional climate protection projects. Thus the first uma climate-neutral writing instruments series are available.

But we wouldn‘t be uma if we only concentrated on one product. For this reason, we have set the complete production in Fischerbach, in the heart of the Black Forest, to climate-neutral. We are therefore pleased to be able to make a positive contribution to the environment.

We assume responsibility

For a company focused on the future, it almost goes without saying that quality, service and, by extension, customer loyalty, should always be maintained at the highest level.

The holistic view-point of any successful company must encompass seamless observance of social modes of behaviour in the daily conduct of its business. The scope of our sense of responsibility extends to the assurance of environmentally compliant working conditions that are truly worthy of our payroll staff. That translates into things like respect for employee rights, the prohibition of child labour and forced labour, as well as a responsible attitude towards our natural world and its resources. We put our name on the line when it comes to achievement of these objectives.

umaSECRETS

With our umaSECRETS you can find out how uma puts sustainability and social responsibility into practice. Order your personal brochure now, or download it online at uma-pen.com.

PDF-Download

uma demonstrably certified

The basic principles of our production conditions are clear: We see it as our corporate responsibility to ensure humane and environmentally compatible working conditions. Respect for workers’ rights and the responsible use of nature and its resources are therefore our top priorities. Therefore, all uma production sites are regularly audited by external institutions and our requirements are communicated to the suppliers during personal visits and briefings. The cooperation with these production sites is based on long-standing and family ties, which ensure an additional level of safety and quality in all matters.

SEDEX
(Supplier Ethical
Data Exchange)

FTA
(Foreign Trade
Association)

PSI
(Promotional Product
Service Institute)

BSCI
(Business Social
Compliance Initiative)

GWW
(German Association of the
Promotional Products Industry)

ASI
(Advertising Specialty
Institute)

Tradition is based on constant innovation

uma was among the best in the TOP 100 innovation competition. In an independent selection process, we scored particularly well with innovative processes and innovative management. With the uma recycled PET PEN series, it was impressively demonstrated that future-oriented action is also reflected in innovative products. The use of alternative materials and the investment in new production processes make uma one of the TOP 100 most innovative companies in the German medium-sized sector.

uma RECYCLED PET PEN – awarded!

With the introduction of uma recycled PET PEN, uma has not only proven its innovative strength, it has also created a new idea in terms of sustainability. The uma recycled PET PEN series was awarded the PSI Sustainability Award 2017.

For the expansion of the recycled PET PEN PRO series, uma was nominated for the Innovator of the Year Award and was able to win the German Innovation Award 2021 with the highest award GOLD.

With its nomination for the German Sustainability Award 2019, uma was also confirmed outside the industry. In addition, the company ranks among the TOP 100 most innovative companies in the German medium-sized sector.

umaNaturals

Discover the umaNaturals model series.

PDF-Download

Wie schreibt man „nachhaltig“?

Nachhaltigkeit – ein Thema, das uma schon seit vielen Jahren bewegt. In vielfacher Weise bekennt sich das Erfolgsunternehmen aus dem Schwarzwald zu seiner sozialen und ökologischen Verantwortung. Das reicht von Arbeitsbedingungen über die Unterstützung von Projekten im heimatlichen Umfeld bis hin zum rücksichtsvollen Umgang mit der Natur. Auch in der Produktpalette wird Nachhaltigkeit sichtbar – so werden alle Schreibgeräte der uma NATURALS Produktlinie zu 100% klimaneutral gefertigt und veredelt.

Vorwort

Es liegt in der Natur der Sache, dass der Mensch sich gerne sicher und geborgen fühlt. Aus Sicht der Verbraucher werden somit die Themen Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz immer weiter in den Fokus der Kaufentscheidung gerückt. Neben den Umwelt- und Sozialstandards interessiert sich der Verbraucher für die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette des Produktes und das verantwortungsvolle Handeln der Unternehmen. Vielleicht ist es gerade für die haptische Werbewelt entscheidend, dass ein tatsächlich in der Hand liegendes Produkt Vertrauen und Nachhaltigkeit transportiert.

Die uma Schreibgeräte Ullmann GmbH hat sich der Nachhaltigkeit buchstäblich verschrieben und es ist uns ein persönliches Anliegen für Mensch und Umwelt verantwortlich und pflichtbewusst zu handeln. Aus einem erfolgreichen, umweltbewussten Management entstehen so Produkte, die das Prädikat „Nachhaltig“ mehr als verdient haben.

Mit dem uma recycled PET PEN zeigen wir, dass man aus PET Material einen sehr ansprechenden und sehr gut schreiben- den recycelten Werbeträger erzeugen kann. Die rPET PEN Schreibgeräte-Serie ist bereits Gewinner des Sustainability Awards, wurde nominiert zum Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreis und zuletzt 2021 ausgezeichnet mit dem German Innovation Award in Gold. Für uns sind das eindeutige Belege, dass eine Investition in Forschung und Entwicklung einen Mehrwert für unseren Planeten erzielen kann.

Alle uma Schreibgeräte stehen für langlebiges und erfolgreiches Werben. Deshalb ist ein Nachfüllen der Minen in allen Schreibgeräten selbstverständlich, sowie die Tatsache, dass alle eingesetzten Materialien recycelt werden können und erneuten Einsatz in unseren RECY-Modellen finden.

Mit den FSC® und PEFC zertifizierten uma Holzschreibgeräten tragen wir dazu bei, dass der Schwarzwald auch in Zukunft für die Nachwelt positiv erhalten bleibt.

Alle Modelle der uma Naturals-Serie werden klimaneutral produziert und am Standort in Fischerbach auf einer der weltweit modernsten Veredelungsstraße für Werbeschreibgeräte auch zu 100% klimaneutral veredelt.

Mit den antimikrobiellen Schreibgeräten kombinieren wir Nachhaltigkeit und Hygiene. Damit beweisen wir nicht nur Innovationskraft sondern lösungsorientierte Ideen zum Schutz von Natur und Mensch.

Unternehmerische Gesellschaftsverantwortung vereint mit innovativen Produktideen und nachhaltigen Produktions- prozessen. Das ist die gelebte uma Philosophie für langfristiges, erfolgreiches und nachhaltiges Handeln.

Alexander Ullmann (CEO)

uma NATURALS Serie zu 100 % klimaneutral

Der Klimawandel ist aktuell eine der größten Herausforderungen. Wir wollen Verantwortung übernehmen und leisten einen konkreten Beitrag zum Klimaschutz: In Zusammenarbeit mit ClimatePartner haben wir die Emissionen unserer uma NATURALS Modelle berechnet und anschließend über regionale Klimaschutzprojekte ausgeglichen. Somit sind die ersten uma klimaneutralen Schreibgeräte Serien erhältlich.

Wir wären aber nicht uma, wenn wir uns nur auf ein Produkt konzentrieren würden. Aus diesem Grund haben wir die komplette Produktion in Fischerbach, im Herzen des Schwarzwaldes, auf klimaneutral gestellt. Wir freuen uns somit einen positiven Beitrag für die Umwelt leisten zu können.

Wir übernehmen Verantwortung

Wir von uma stehen für ein verantwortliches Wirtschaften. Das bedeutet, dass bei uns Werte wie Qualität und Kundenzufriedenheit, wie auch die Einhaltung sozialer Verhaltensweisen und Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit an oberster Stelle stehen. Auch bei unseren Partnern legen wir höchsten Wert auf menschenwürdige und umweltverträgliche Arbeitsbedingungen, wie beispielsweise die Einhaltung von Arbeitnehmerrechten, das Verbot von Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit sowie den verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit der Natur und ihren Ressourcen. Für die Einhaltung dieser Ziele stehen wir mit unserem Namen.

umaSECRETS

In den umaSECRETS erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie man bei uma Nachhaltigkeit und soziale Verantwortung nicht nur schreibt, sondern auch lebt. Fordern Sie ihre persönliche Broschüre an oder lesen Sie online im Downloadbereich auf uma-pen.com.
PDF-Download

Wir handeln nachweislich verantwortungsvoll

Die Grundprinzipien unserer Produktionsbedingungen sind klar: Wir sehen es als unternehmerische Verantwortung, menschenwürdige und umweltverträgliche Arbeitsbedingungen sicherzustellen. Somit haben das Einhalten von Arbeitnehmerrechten, sowie der verantwortungsbewusste Umgang mit der Natur und ihren Ressourcen oberste Priorität. Deshalb werden alle uma Produktionsstätten regelmäßig von externen Einrichtungen auditiert und unsere Ansprüche bei persönlichen Besuchen und Briefings den Zulieferer vermittelt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit diesen Produktionsstätten basieren auf jahrelangen und familiären Verbindungen, die ein zusätzliches Sicherheits- und Qualitätsniveau in allen Belangen sicherstellt.

SEDEX
(Supplier Ethical
Data Exchange)

FTA
(Foreign Trade
Association)

PPAI
(Promotional Products
Association International)

BSCI
(Business Social
Compliance Initiative)

GWW
(German Association of the
Promotional Products Industry)

ASI
(Advertising Specialty
Institute)

Tradition basiert auf ständigen Innovationen

Bei dem Innovationswettbewerb TOP 100 hat uma es unter die Besten geschafft. In einem unabhängigen Auswahlverfahren konnten wir besonders mit innovativen Prozessen und innovativem Management punkten. Dass sich zukunftsträchtiges Agieren auch in innovativen Produkten niederschlägt konnte mit der uma RECYCLED-PET-PEN-Serie eindrucksvoll bewiesen werden. Der Einsatz alternativen Materialien und die Investition in neue Produktionsverfahren macht uma zu einem der TOP 100 Innovativsten Unternehmen des Deutschen Mittelstandes.

uma RECYCLED PET PEN – ausgezeichnet!

Mit der Einführung des uma recycled PET PEN hat uma nicht nur seine Innovations- kraft unter Beweis gestellt, sondern auch eine neue Idee in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit geschaffen. Dafür wurde die uma recycled PET PEN-Serie mit dem PSI Sustainability Award 2017 ausgezeichnet.

Für die Erweiterung der recycled PET PEN PRO Serei wurde uma zum Innovator of the Year Award nominiert und konnte den German Innovation Award 2021mit der höchsten Auszeichnung GOLD gewinnen.

Mit der Nominierung zum Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreis 2019 wurde uma auch branchenextern bestätigt, zusätzlich zählt das Unternehmen zu den TOP 100 innova- tivsten Unternehmen im Deutschen Mittelstand.

uma NATURALS

Entdecken Sie die umaNaturals Modellserien.

PDF-Download